Clear all

My story of Uterine CS

5 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@denne)
Eminent Member
Topic starter

I guess that I am writing my story way after the dx of this cancer August of 2017. It's kind of a crummy story!!!
I was diagnosed first with breast Ca in May of 2015. It was a lobular cancer (rather than ductal) and not picked up in my regular mammograms. Was thought to be stage 1 but I chose a B/L mastectomy anyway as there was some suspicious findings on the MRI. Turned out after an initial negative finding under the microscope that the final path (for my lymph nodes) came back unexpectedly as positive. I went from a stg 1 to a stg 3A. This meant chemotherapy with Adriamyacin/ cytoxine and taxol and 28 treatments of breast radiation. I did it, went bald, got sick, didn't like it but got through it "one step at a time."

Let me just say that I walked past the infusion center the 1st time and thought... that's NOT ME. I DON'T BELONG HERE. I have been a critical care nurse for 25 years and apparently thought I was not ever going to get sick. But I must say, that I know now that we can find comfort in the infusion center.
So in May of 2018 I had a non bloody discharge, went to the obgyn and we blow it off for 2 months. Biopsy was done in August and again, nothing was expected. But...I got the call while in Denver and was "dropped kicked' to a surgeon with paper work completed. One knows when trouble is ahead! Carcinoma sarcoma of the uterus. No relation to the earlier breast cancer. A numbing diagnosis.
Ended up quickly at MD Anderson/Cooper in Camden NJ (again) for the surgery. Dr David Warshal TAH ( total hysterectomy) and good prognosis. Stage 1B... contained... amazing...
I actually almost gleefully went into chemo again. Carboplatin and taxol. Bald again, oh well, a cure was possible. I really did well through this chemo but is not an easy drug.